

Under California law, you may have the right to take job-protected leave to care for your own serious health condition or a family member with a serious health condition, or to bond with a new child (via birth, adoption, or foster care). California law also requires employers to provide job-protected leave and accommodations to employees who are disabled by pregnancy, childbirth, or a related medical condition.

Under the California Family Rights Act of 1993 (CFRA), if you have more than 12 months of service with us and have worked at least 1,250 hours in the 12-month period before the date you want to begin your leave, and if we employ five or more employees, you may have a right to a family care or medical leave (CFRA leave). This leave may be up to 12 workweeks in a 12-month period for the birth, adoption, or foster care placement of your child or for your own serious health condition or that of your child, parent, grandparent, sibling, spouse, or domestic partner. While the law provides only unpaid leave, employees may choose or employers may require use of accrued paid leave while taking CFRA leave under certain circumstances.

Even if you are not eligible for CFRA leave, if you are disabled by pregnancy, childbirth or a related medical condition, you are entitled to take a pregnancy disability leave of up to four months, depending on your period(s) of actual disability. If you are CFRA-eligible, you have certain rights to take BOTH a pregnancy disability leave and a CFRA leave for reason of the birth of your child. Both leaves contain a guarantee of reinstatement-for pregnancy disability it is to the same position and for CFRA it is to the same or a comparable position-at the end of the leave, subject to any defense allowed under the law.

If possible, you must provide at least 30 days' advance notice for foreseeable events (such as the expected birth of a child or a planned medical treatment for yourself or of a family member). For events that are unforeseeable, we need you to notify us, at least verbally, as soon as you learn of the need for the leave. Failure to comply with these notice rules is grounds for, and may result in, deferral of the requested leave until you comply with this notice policy.

We may require certification from your health care provider before allowing you a leave for pregnancy disability or for your own serious health condition. We also may require certification from the health care provider of your child, parent or spouse, who has a serious health condition, before allowing you a leave to take care of that family member. When medically necessary, leave may be taken on an intermittent or reduced work schedule.

If you are taking a leave for the birth, adoption, or foster care placement of a child, the basic minimum duration of the leave is two weeks, and you must conclude the leave within one year of the birth or placement for adoption or foster care.

Taking a family care or pregnancy disability leave may impact certain of your benefits and your seniority date. If you want more information regarding your eligibility for a leave and/or the impact of the leave on your seniority and benefits, please contact your employer.

Contact the GO-Biz Human Resources Office at: gobiz.hr@gobiz.ca.gov (916) 319-9367

If you have been subjected to discrimination, harassment, or retaliation at work, or have been improperly denied PDL or CFRA leave, file a complaint with DFEH.

TO FILE A COMPLAINT

Department of Fair Employment and Housing

dfeh.ca.gov

Toll Free: 800.884.1684 TTY: 800.700.2320

If you have a disability that requires a reasonable accommodation, DFEH can assist you with your complaint. Contact us through any method above or, for individuals who are deaf or hard of hearing or have speech disabilities, through the California Relay Service (711).